Home Forum Help Calendar Search Register Login
 Welcome, Guest. Please login or register

Mini Marcos Forum  >  General Boards  >  Mini Jem  >  Mini Jem door windows
0 Members Browsing (7 Guests)
Currently No Active Members

Pages: 1, 2, 3 : All Reply Recommend Print
  Author    Mini Jem door windows  (currently 11,005 views)
Jeremy Harrison
Posted on: April 4th, 2010, 07:11:52 Quote Report to Moderator
Baby Member

I'm new to kit car building. My barn-find Jem is progressing well at the body shop and I'm now trying to work out how the door windows work. They seem to unlock from the outside by turning the key in the glove box type latches. The glass then simply drops down the aluminium channels into the door. There is no sealing of any type for the glass, that's probably why I found so much stuff in the door bottoms when I took the trim panels off, because there was a couple of inches of "soil" with plants growing in it down there! Once sitting in the car with the door glass down and the door trim on, there is no way of holding the glass in place once it is lifted back up. I did find a couple of perished rubber wedges, so I suppose the previous owner used these. There must be a far more satisfactory way of sorting out and sealing the moving door glasses these days. How do others manage to do this? Change to the early Mini sliding horizontal glass method? Any help at this stage would be most appreciated before the doors have been finally fettled for painting. Has anyone changed the  square section aluminium frames for something better? I will be changing all the door glasses and the rear windows for an "acrylic type", so anything is possible. Also what type and thickness of "acrylic" is the best to use?

Last modified April 4th, 2010, 15:50:36 by Jeremy Harrison
Logged Offline
Private Message
Richard Brady
Posted on: April 4th, 2010, 18:49:00 Quote Report to Moderator
Baby Member

Hmm, a mini with window boxes, probably not that uncommon!